Change Artist
Subscribe to RSS feed

Subscribe to Equal Vision Records RSS feed

Add to Google Reader

Or subscribe via e-mail for free by entering your information below!



Jay Littleton vocals
Ben Green guitar, vocals
Peter Tsouras guitar, vocals
Ben Murphy bass
Shane Johnson drums

Washington, DC-area quintet, Fairweather have become synonymous with passionate, relevant music combined with intelligent lyrics and an increasingly vivid art aesthetic. Upon releasing their debut album, If They Move... Kill Them (2001), Fairweather spent the next year supporting the release on the road with Thursday, Recover, Dashboard Confessional, Piebald, Zao, Grade and Strike Anywhere. Constant touring in conjunction with memorable appearances at numerous summer festivals solidified the bands loyal fan base and set the stage for the young quintets next endeavor.

Fairweather returned in late summer of 2002 with a four song EP. Alaska was the bands first step in a musical progression that blended sounds created by bands My Bloody Valentine and Sonic Youth with the angular percussive ideas of Slint and Fugazi. Fairweather took to the road again, touring consistently throughout fall and winter with acts The Movielife, Piebald, Onelinedrawing, Brand New and Codeseven. Exhibiting the bands recent growth and development, the EP raised anticipation for their long-awaited follow-up album and was embraced by fans and critics alike.

In early spring of 2003, Fairweather entered Inner Ear Studios (Fugazi) with legendary producer J. Robbins (Jets To Brazil, Promise Ring, Burning Airlines) to record their sophomore offering. The synergy created in the recording sessions resulted in the immensely organic album Lusitania, saturated with intense dynamics, calculated arrangements and expanded instrumentation. Vibrant and atmospheric, powerful and epic, Lusitania not only explores the boundaries of the genre, it subtly and artfully breeches them.

Press Downloads

No press downloads


Brad Wiseman
The Soroka Agency