Chicago-based rock trio, Lume, premiered two unreleased B-Sides – “Black Sun” and “Harris” – from their critically-acclaimed 2018 full-length, Wrung Out, today via BrooklynVegan. The two singles, which will be officially released February 8th, expand on the key elements that make Wrung Out such a deeply personal listen, while exemplifying the album’s diversity. “Black Sun” is disarming and tone-heavy yet remains cold and crisp, while “Harris” serves as a counterbalance to the dense opener – entirely stripped down and open resulting in one of the band’s most vulnerable songs to date.

Speaking on “Black Sun” Dan Butler (guitar / vocals) said:

“‘Black Sun’ is a song that we’ve had kicking around in various versions for quite a while. Although it didn’t make its way onto the record itself, I feel like ‘Black Sun’ is a great companion piece to Wrung Out. The tone and darkness is all there, and lyrically it deals with a similar subject, describing a constant feeling that nags at you until it becomes overbearing and sucks you in.”

And speaking on “Harris” he said:

“‘Harris’ is a pretty stripped-down song for us and was really born out of the inherent idleness that comes with working on a record in a studio, waiting for other people to finish their parts or for mix tweaks to be made. ‘Harris’ ended up being written and fully recorded within the span of a few hours. Lyrically it hits very close to home, like many of the songs on Wrung Out, as it refers to watching a close friend repeatedly make harmful decisions, and no matter what you do to try to help them, you just can’t make it through in time.”

Lume’s 2018 release, Wrung Out, saw the band rise to new heights, gathering praise from the likes of AV Club, Revolver, Pop Matters, Chicago Reader and more, while the band toured the US, wrapping up their year with an appearance at the Audiotree Music Festival in Chicago. Lume’s brand of post-hardcore achieves heaviness through minimalism that is lightened by beautiful moments throughout their label debut.

In 2014, the members of Lume – Daniel Butler (Vocals/Guitar), Dylan Hulett (Bass), and Austin Hulett (Drums) – started the band with the purpose of emerging themselves in a diverse, vibrant musical scene that would help them reach a new level as a band. After several sold-out, limited run releases and a prolific touring schedule that found them hitting almost every state, the band entered the writing process for their full-length, Wrung Out, in late 2016 with the goal of recording what could become a pivotal release in their career. The band turned to Mike Watts (Glassjaw, Dilinger Escape Plan, O’Brother) to produce the record and help guide them as they expanded their sound. They also enlisted Johnny Dang (of o’Brother) and Spencer Ussery (of Big Jesus) to collaborate on several tracks; learning valuable lessons about crafting a song from both in the process. The result is a diverse collection of ethereal, heavy rock songs that owe as much to the bands they grew up on – such as Soundgarden and Radiohead – as they do to contemporary rock bands like Cloakroom, Chelsea Wolfe or Nothing. Wrung Out is out now on Equal Vision Records / Graphic Nature.