As they prepare to launch their run of North America with INTERVALS on The Way Forward Tour tonight in Chicago, Los Angeles-based instrumental progressive rock outfit, Night Verses, have surprised fans with a three song EP. Copper Wasp is the first music released from Night Verses as an instrumental rock trio and signals a dramatic change for the band as it explores uncharted sonic territory that few have entered before. The Will Putney (Every Time I Die, Body Count, Knocked Loose, Amity Affliction) produced EP will be part of the band’s highly-anticipated second full-length on Equal Vision / Graphic Nature Records later this year and can be streamed now on Bandcamp or Spotify.

This initial offering from the band puts the diverse array of influences they drew from for their upcoming full length on full display; setting the bar high for what fans can expect from that release. Whether it’s the prolonged absence of drums in areas (something the band noted was present in classical compositions but not in most current popular music) or the abstract vocal samples that serve as additional instrumentation (as borrowed from 90’s trip-hop), Improta, DePirro and Herrera have challenged themselves to write and arrange songs that they felt they would have never been able to pull off even a year ago; a difficult task for three musicians already considered among the world’s elite.

At the core of most truly progressive music is a certainty amongst those involved that everyone is working towards the same bigger picture. When this level of trust is combined with an unshakable commitment to innovation and unmatched technical prowess, the possibility to move beyond the conventional songwriting approach and create something truly groundbreaking can exist. After 15-plus years of collaboration, the members of Night Verses have developed this level of chemistry and, on that foundation, have built a new collection of songs that lives outside the realm of contemporary heavy rock.

Night Verses will spend the next month touring the United States and Canada with INTERVALS, Jason Richardson (Born Of Osiris, Chelsea Grin, Polyphia) and Nick Johnston. These dates will bring four of the most innovative acts in rock music together for a bill that is sure to leave fans with the feeling they’ve experienced a truly epic moment in rock history. Full dates are listed below and tickets can be purchased here.

Full Tour Dates
w/ INTERVALS, Jason Richardson + Nick Johnston

1/19 – Chicago, IL @ Reggie’s
1/20 – St. Louis, MO @ Fubar
1/21 – Wichita, KS @ Rock Island Live
1/23 – Albuquerque, NM @ The Jam Spot
1/24 – Phoenix, AZ @ Pub Rock
1/25 – Fullerton, CA @ Slidebar
1/30 – Los Angeles,CA @ 1720
2/2 – Portland, OR @ Analog Theatre
2/3 – Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theater
2/4 – Spokane, WA @ The Pin
2/5 – Seattle, WA @ El Corazon
2/7 – Denver, CO @ Marquis Theater
2/9 – Oklahoma City, OK @ 89th Street Collective
2/10 – Ft. Worth, TX @ Rail Club
2/11 – Austin, TX @ Come & Take It Live
2/12 – Houston, TX @ Scout BAr
2/13 – New Orleans, LA @ Southport Music Hall
2/15 – Tampa, FL @ Orpheum
2/16 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade
2/17 – Greensboro, NC @ Blind Tiger
2/18 – Baltimore, MD @ SoundStage
2/19 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Foundry at The Fillmore
2/20 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
2/21 – New York, NY @ Gramercy Theater
2/22 – Montreal, QC @ Cafe Campus
2/23 – Toronto, CA @ Opera House