Equal Vision Records band OWEL is now premiering a new music video for “Paper Hands”, directed by Dylan Schnitker, at

“I think there are times for any adult when we can feel completely overwhelmed and unprepared for this adult life,” shares vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Jay Sakong – who came up with the concept for the video. “I think most of us can relate to feeling like we’re still the same kids we were so many years ago, just in bigger bodies.”

The band also recently partnered with artist Kayla Surico for the debut of their sophomore full-length. Together, the band and Surico have created a stunning full album series of cinemagraphs, that can be seen now at and “We just thought it was a cool idea – these little moving photos,” notes the band. “It’s tough trying to find a single image that can embody a song, but we think Kayla knocked it out of the park.” The full album stream also features a video for “Pale Soft Light” that was illustrated and animated by Sakong and debuted exclusively on A.V. Club.

dear me was co-produced by vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Jay Sakong and Gates’ vocalist Kevin Dye, and is available now on all digital retailers, at and at all upcoming tour dates.

The New Jersey-based indie outfit is on tour now with the Soil & the Sun. All upcoming tour dates can be found below. To date, OWEL has shared stages with the likes of Minus The Bear, Foxing, American Authors and performed at festivals such as Gentlemen of the Road, CMJ, SXSW, and Northside Festival. The band has also been noted as a band to watch by Pitchfork, NPR, Grantland, Noisey and more.

dear me is the follow-up to Every Good Boy (EP, 2015) and the band’s debut, self-titled full-length (2013). Featuring delicate, dreamy vocals with lush five-part harmonies, elegant string arrangements and a tasteful touch of electronic elements throughout, the band has created a truly stunning sound that is all their own and simultaneously feels classic and modern. On dear me, dramatic crescendos and dynamic soundscapes weave behind ethereal vocals, gracefully leading listeners on a phenomenal sonic journey of reflection, curiosity and contemplation.

OWEL is comprised of Jay Sakong (lead vocals, guitar, keys), Jane Park (vocals, violin, viola, keys), Nunzio Moudatsos (vocals, bass), Ryan Vargas (percussion) and Seamus O’Connor (vocals, guitar, keys).

the Soil & the Sun w/ OWEL
Nov 16 Columbus, OH @ Double Happiness
Nov 17 Cincinnati, OH @ MOTR Pub
Nov 18 Chicago, IL @ Beat Kitchen
Nov 19 Grand Rapids, MI @ Pyramid Scheme
Nov 20 St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway
Nov 22 Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald’s
Nov 23 Dallas, TX @ Three Links
Nov 25 Orlando, FL @ Backbooth
Nov 26 Tampa, FL @ Crowbar
Nov 27 Jacksonville, FL @ 1904 Music Hall
Nov 28 Charleston, SC @ The Royal American (new venue)
Nov 29 Atlanta, GA @ Purgatory at Masquerade
Nov 30 Nashville, TN @ The End
Dec 01 Chapel Hill, NC @ Local 506
Dec 02 Washington, DC @ Songbyrd