New Jersey-based indie outfit OWEL has signed to Equal Vision Records. The band will release their sophomore full-length dear me on November 11, which was co-produced by vocalist Jay Sakong and Gates’ vocalist Kevin Dye.

“Paper Hands” – the first song to be released from the album – is premiering now via While most songs on the album are autobiographical, this particular track is written from the perspective of a close friend, and explores the heaviness of life’s challenges and the devotion that’s needed to protect and take care of loved ones, especially when they’re physically or mentally incapable of doing so themselves.

dear me is the follow-up to Every Good Boy (EP, 2015) and the band’s debut, self-titled full-length (2013). Featuring delicate, dreamy vocals with lush five-part harmonies, elegant string arrangements and a tasteful touch of electronic elements throughout, the band has created a truly stunning sound that is all their own and simultaneously feels classic and modern. On dear me, dramatic crescendos and dynamic soundscapes weave behind ethereal vocals, gracefully leading listeners on a phenomenal sonic journey of reflection, curiosity and contemplation.

“The songs on this record feel a lot like diary entries to me. In this case, the phrase ‘dear me’ can be read as both an expression of regret and the beginning of a letter to oneself. I see it as both,” notes Sakong. “That’s the nice thing about lyrics in songs – you can pretty much reveal the most secretive parts of yourself and not feel as exposed as if you just said it out loud.”

“A lot of the songs on the self-titled album dealt with guilt and maybe even a bit of self-loathing. And while some of those feelings may still linger on the new record, I think for the most part the newer songs reflect a slightly more optimistic state of mind,” he reveals. “We were mostly just excited to go into the studio. I know some musicians prefer performing live over recording and, although I do love to perform live, I think making music in the studio is my favorite thing to do in life.”

OWEL is comprised of Jay Sakong (lead vocals, guitar, keys), Jane Park (vocals, violin, viola, keys), Nunzio Moudatsos (vocals, bass), Ryan Vargas (percussion) and Seamus O’Connor (vocals, guitar, keys).

To date, OWEL has shared stages with the likes of Minus The Bear, Foxing, American Authors and performed at festivals such as Gentlemen of the Road, CMJ, SXSW, and Northside Festival. The band has also been noted as a band to watch by Pitchfork, NPR, Grantland, Noisey and more.

DEAR ME COVER 3000x3000
dear me
1. Slow
2. Pale Soft Light
3. Too Young to Fall In Love
4. Be Quiet
5. Paper Hands
6. I Am Not Yours
7. Steal the Moon
8. Annabel
9. Not Today
10. Places
11. Ocean Legs
12. Albert and the Hurricane