Pretty & Nice to release Golden Rules for Golden People in April

Boston, MA’s Pretty & Nice will release their third full-length album, Golden Rules for Golden People on April 30, via Rory Records.

“We put a lot of positive energy into this batch of songs. Most of them started on acoustic guitar out on the front steps of the studio/house. We took a lot of inspiration from being outside in the sun and from changes in our own lives and in the way we approach each day. The past couple years have been difficult, but transformative and we grew a lot individually and together. The songs reflect those changes,” explains vocalist/guitarist Holden Lewis. “We felt freer than ever when recording the songs and that opened them up a lot. “Shimmering”, “shining”, “soaring” were all words used to describe what we wanted to hear. Our communication in the studio was better than ever and it became a deeper collaborative adventure than on past recordings.”

On February 6, the band premiered their first ever official music video, for “Hibernate” off US YOU WE ALL EP, their latest release and follow-up to their previous full-length Get Young. The music video was filmed by Dillon Buss in Boston, MA and premiered simultaneously on the mtvU tv channel and online at; And is also now available on Youtube. The EP is available now in digital, vinyl and cassette formats.

Just prior to the release of Golden Rules for Golden People, Pretty & Nice will also release a two-song 7” on April 20, for Record Store Day. Side A will feature “Q_Q” and Side B will feature “On n On”. The pressing will be limited to 500, on black vinyl.

Pretty & Nice is comprised of the aforementioned Lewis (lead vocals/guitar/keys), Jeremy Mendicino (lead vocals/guitar/gadgets), and Roger Lussier (bass/keys/horn). The band has toured and shared stages with the likes of The Get Up Kids, Miniature Tigers, The Thermals, Title Tracks (John Davis from Q and not U), and Built to Spill. The band’s first tour of 2013 will be a US run with Northern Faces that includes performances at SXSW, followed by tour dates with Jukebox the Ghost.

All upcoming tour dates, as well as the Golden Rules for Golden People tracklisting can be seen below. The new album will be the band’s debut release on Rory Records, Max Bemis of Say Anything’s imprint label within Equal Vision Records.

Golden Rules for Golden People
1. Stallion & Mare
2. Mummy Jets
3. Critters
4. New Czar
5. Q_Q
6. Gold Fools
7. Yonkers
8. Money Music
9. Kill the Beast
10. Golden Rules
11. The Frog

Mar 02 Brooklyn, NY @ Shea Stadium+
Mar 03 Bethlehem, PA @ Gallery U*
Mar 05 Pittsburgh, PA @ Smiling Moose*
Mar 06 Columbus, OH @ Kobo Live*
Mar 07 Barrington, IL @ Penny Road Pub*
Mar 09 Broken Arrow, OK @ Rudy’s*
Mar 10 Houston, TX @ The Blue House
Mar 11 McAllen, TX @ Thirsty Monkey
Mar 12-16 Austin, TX @ SXSW*
Mar 21 Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall^
Mar 23 New York, NY @ Studio at Webster Hall*
Mar 24 Philadelphia, PA @ The Barbary*
Apr 13 New London, CT @ The Oasis (21+)
Apr 14 State College, PA @ Chronic Town (18+)
Apr 15 Dayton, OH @ Blind Bob’s (21+)
Apr 16 Indianapolis, IN @ Deluxe^
Apr 17 Columbia, MO @ Mojo’s^
Apr 18 Lawrence, KS @ Jackpot Saloon^
Apr 19 Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room Lounge^

+ w/Cymbals Eat Guitars
*w/Northern Faces
^w/Jukebox The Ghost