Secret Space has signed to Equal Vision Records and is now premiering their self-titled, debut EP at The Toledo, OH-based band draws influences from modern indie pop and 90s emo rock. The trio is comprised of vocalist / multi-instrumentalist Dean Tartaglia, bassist Zach Ruetz and drummer Steve Warstler.


“For a band that formed earlier this year, who’s only played a dozen shows, we feel it’s pretty unheard of for our first proper release to be on a label of EVR’s caliber,” shares Tartaglia. “We came to the table with four fully-finished, unreleased songs and a dozen new demos, and we’ve felt their respect for the work we’ve been putting in since day one. The three of us feel at home with EVR’s artist-centric mindset and their flexibility to fit our needs. Their roster is home to countless bands we grew up with, Zach even remembers watching EVR commercials as a teenager, so we feel our roots run deep. And for me personally, I would have never in a million years dreamed I would be able to say I’m label mates with my favorite band, Say Anything. We are still on cloud nine, proud to be a part of the family!”

Of the new EP he shares, “The decision to make the EP self-titled was a very conscious one. Having never even played live before we recorded the EP, these recordings were the first moments we discovered our sound as a band, and discovered what the words “Secret Space” meant to us. Endless thanks to Mat Kerekes (Citizen) for producing the EP and the risks he helped us take in finding our sound. He played a huge role in preproduction and reworking the form of a few of the songs as well. The first time we listened to the EP was the first time we truly heard Secret Space in vibrant color. Lyrically, I am hugely influenced by Elliott Smith; the way in which he takes snapshots of his daily life but makes them relatable to others by using universal language. I can safely say this EP is the first time every word I chose was completely genuine, completely open and honest, with no stone left unturned.”

Prior to the new EP, the band had only released two songs – “Stay For A While” and “Standing And Waiting” – as part of a split with The Flats.

Secret Space EP is available now on all digital retailers and for pre-order on vinyl, CD and cassette at, and for a limited time only is available for free via Bandcamp at


Secret Space EP
1. Everybody Knows
2. Pit Of My Stomach
3. New Heights
4. I Will Not Survive This